It’s Okay to Be Selfish Sometimes

There was an incident in my life that I would never forget.

Some of you who are more adventurous might view what I would about to narrate as simplistic or normal. But that event itself changed the way I viewed the world — although not until many years after the event.

The story

I just came back to school after a while. Probably because of fever, but I’m not sure.

On that day my teacher gave me the raw materials to build an ornament which resembles a lamp.

As I was constructing the ornament, some of my classmates, who were not usually kind, approached me in a friendly manner to ask for some materials.

Being the naive kid I was back then, and not knowing how much material it takes to build the finished project, I gave some of my materials to my begging classmates.

As I would recall, I even heard our teacher say something like (translated to English): “You’ve wasted your materials yesterday, and now you’re asking Michael for some spare.”

Giving some (or most) of my materials away, I wasn’t able to finish my ornament. While the classmates who asked me for my materials, finished their project.

Kind of unfair, isn’t it?

First lesson to be learned

As the title of the post says, it’s okay to be selfish sometimes. Why? The reason is that there are times when other people will put their needs first before yours, even if it is to your disadvantage.

What if I didn’t gave my materials away, and as a result finished my project?

Sure, they may call me greedy or something, but to think of it isn’t justified.

To make an analogy, it’s like two guys who traveled the desert with one water bottle each. The first guy used his water wisely, while the second guy was wasteful of his water.

During their journey, the second guy asked the first guy for some of his water (which he really needs).

The first guy said: “You already drank a lot, while I, who drank very little might need my water later.”

The second guy called the first guy greedy, but knowing better the first guy wasn’t bothered at all.

Eventually they reached town and drank all the water they could have.

The thing is, if the first guy gave his water away, he could have suffered from dehydration, but he didn’t, because he was wise.

Second lesson to be learned

Have you noticed that my teacher didn’t even stopped my classmates, even if she somewhat knew that by giving away my materials, I wouldn’t be able to finish my project.

Learning from that, we must not expect other people to look after us (even if it is their duty).

I was still very young back then, so I didn’t know. Also, we’re trained to be obedient during that time.

Being obedient is not always good, but that needs another post….

Summary of Lessons

Lesson 1: It’s okay to be selfish sometimes.
Lesson 2: We must look after ourselves.

Leave a Reply

