Unread Books (and Ebooks)

I own more than 500 books and ebooks, but I’ve only read a portion of my collection. Most of them are non-fiction by the way.

I’m quite good at rationalizing to myself why I need to buy a book, even though I already own a similar or better book in my library.

Here, I’m going to list the reasons why I haven’t yet read (or stopped reading) the rest of my books:

  1. I buy books (and ebooks) a lot faster than I can read them. In average it takes me 3-7 days to read a book, depending on the number of pages it has.
  2. I stopped reading because the book is full of fluff (unnecessary filler words) or doesn’t get to the point.
  3. The author said something I find offensive so I discontinued reading.
  4. The author oversells his/her other books or courses. It’s okay to advertise, but not too much.
  5. I figured out that I already know what’s mentioned in the book; reading it will be somewhat of a waste of time.
  6. What is contained in the book is not in alignment with my current beliefs. They say we should read material that contradicts what we know, but sometimes my bullshit detector gets really high while reading a book I don’t agree with.
  7. I  started reading another book and I become really engaged; in effect, I forgot about the other book completely.
  8. I became busy at work or other projects.
  9. I lend or sometimes give away books. Hey, it’s nice to share knowledge.
  10. When reading books I somewhat read by chapter or section every day, making it a habit. If I skip a day or two, it becomes easy to stop reading a book altogether.
  11. Some of them are just reference books and are not to be meant to be read completely (by an average person, that is).

There you have it. My reasons (or excuses) why I still haven’t read a lot of my books.

Lately, though, I’ve been reading ebooks exclusively, and I’ve discovered something called Stealth reading. 

Stealth reading basically is just reading whenever you have free time, like while commuting to and from work, waiting at a line, or while eating at a restaurant. It really contributes to my reading time a lot.

But even though I haven’t read a lot of my books, I don’t consider them a waste of money or space. They are my valued possessions. I feel I’m surrounded by knowledge when I see them.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Unread Books (and Ebooks)

Leave a Reply

